Blackberry season

It’s blackberry season, which means I’m clearing out my freezer to make room for bags of berries. I think I can fit fifteen gallon bags in there if I remove everything except a bottle of vodka, so it’s also the season for forlorn little packets of leftovers. The blackberries are just starting to ripen on the hill behind my house; most are still green, and there are blossoms and bees. I like sprinting up there twice a day to pick. Serious blackberry harvesting calls for specialized footwear. If you look closely, you can see the duct tape on my boot where it was ripped open by thorns.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

