Skill, Paper, Scissors

Karen Bit Vejle

This show, “Scissors for a Brush,” featuring the papercutting art of Karen Bit Vejle, was in Seattle, at the Nordic Heritage Museum. I’m so sad that I missed it. The video looks like a fairy tale with a sorceress who casts spells in paper. (Is there one like that? There should be.) She hid these beautiful things under a rug for so many years…it all seems a little unreal.

I pretended to buy my daughter a book that teaches you to cut out things like paper wreaths of knives and forks, or carrots and radishes, but it is actually for me. She loves the forks, though, and the radishes. I like the shadows and the light and the fragility of it all.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

