Hello, kitty


This is a late birthday present for a three-year-old girl who loves purple and Hello Kitty. (I have Hello Kitty yoga pants; I can’t resist her either.) I found the pattern at Silk and Wool and had a lot of fun making it, although my cat is much more burly and has a faint anime tinge. And, yes, it’s only H.K. inspired, not a perfect replica. As advised, I’ve made the head smaller, and used buttons for eyes after I was reassured that the birthday girl would not eat them. I also felted it a little, because I will felt anything. My daughter contributed the pompom for the collar. I was not happy about that at first, but now I think it’s great.

I can’t decide if late birthday gifts are disappointing, or a nice surprise. It would be best for me to choose the second option, since the gifts I make are usually late.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

