Little quilted things

I can’t quilt. When I look at little things like this doll quilt, though, learning to make one seems manageable. And so desirable. A friend gave this quilt to my daughter to accompany an American Girl doll; it had been made for her by an aunt, out of lovely Southern lady silk dresses. Also, the quilt squares are padded with cotton batting, and that looks wonderful. I’ve never seen a quilt like it before (not that that means much).

The other piece is a Hmong quilted table runner that belonged to my mother. I love it, but have no illusions about replicating it.

I’m not sure why I never learned, because my mother and her friends did quilt, for various charities. All I remember is sitting in the dark under the quilting frame with one of my friends; our job was to poke the needles back up through the fabric. Our reward was Oreo milkshakes and cheeseburgers. Child labor at its very best :-)

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

