Notorious I.N.G. (rid)

My eight-year-old likes old movies, bless her heart. It started with White Christmas last December, and has now progressed to Gaslight, Rear Window, To Catch a Thief, The Trouble With Harry, Casablanca and Notorious. The only thumbs down was for Casablanca, which she called “the most boring thing I have ever seen.” Her favorite, by a long shot, is Hitchcock’s 1946 masterpiece, Notorious, which stars Ingrid Bergman and Cary Grant. It has spies, intrigue, poison, a Nazi mother-in-law (literally), and two very broken, beautiful, sexy characters at the center: Bergman is both brave and emotionally exhausted, with a not unrelated drinking problem, and Grant, her spymaster and lover, is in agony that she has followed his orders and seduced their target. Not ideal working conditions.

In any case, Edith Head made all of Bergman’s clothes, and she never ever looked better. Here’s a picture that documents the moment when Ingrid Bergman and Cary Grant created a force field that sucked in all the gorgeous within a five mile radius, leaving the extras withered like cornhusks:

Notorious racetrack

As my daughter says, it’s so good you forget it isn’t in color.

And here’s a bonus: a link to a shocking on-set picture of the devoutly Catholic Hitchcock caught in the act of worshiping Miss Bergman. (The picture was taken by her lover, Robert Capa, but that’s another story….)

2 thoughts on “Notorious I.N.G. (rid)

  1. Great post. You’re entering the I-don’t-care-what-she’s-writing-about-I-want-to-read-it sphere. Thanks.

  2. Thank you so much! Looking at those pictures made me laugh so hard that I had to write about them. They really do look superhuman in that first photo. I’m afraid you’ll get two copies in your email, because I dated the first attempt as October 13 – I’m still getting used to the scheduling software.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

