Emergency Christmas Monster

Christmas Monster

Emergency Christmas Monster

The library is having a toymaking…event thing on December sixth, and I will be bringing my Emergency Christmas Monster, on loan from its young owner. I should have put something in the picture for scale, because this thing is only three inches tall. Since small children are usually enchanted by tiny things, it’s the perfect present for a child who shows up unexpectedly at a holiday party. If you totally ignore your guests, you should be able to finish it in an hour and a half, easily. I’ve actually done this before; my parties run much better if I don’t interfere.

All this monster is is a tiny stocking cap stuffed with fleece. I gave it a waistline of sorts by using a piece of yarn as a drawstring, folded the bottom of the hat to form four feet, stitched that up, knitted several inches of idiot cord for the head, and then added eyes and a mouth. Seriously, the worse this thing looks, the better.

We’ll have other simple patterns available, and if anyone wants to work on their own Christmas presents, that would be great, too. After about a week, I’ll take the gift toys to Lydia Place, in Bellingham (yes, we checked, they do want them :), and I will mail any hats we can churn out before Christmas to Afghans for Afghans, heroic purveyors of knitwear. They have a long and distinguished track record of getting socks and other things to people who are miserably cold.

One thought on “Emergency Christmas Monster

  1. Oh Karen, that’s a great line, ” My parties run much better if I don’t interfere.” Wise and simply said.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

