Ice

E and mama skating

E and me skating


Today was the first day of winter. It doesn’t say that on the calendar, but the puddles in my driveway and the pond at Tree Frog Farm were frozen over: it’s winter. I lay in bed tonight watching the beginning of Fanny and Alexander, full of candles and ice and Christmas and sex and food and snow. Heaven. I shouldn’t love this time of year so much; I get colder than anyone I know, in spite of all my Saami genes. I sleep with three down comforters.

The picture above is of me and my daughter, skating away from Shanan :) Those blades on the ice are one of the best sounds in the world.

One thought on “Ice

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

