Feather and fan

After I got done with my shift today, I sat on the couch in the lobby and wrote out my Christmas list. I was a little overwhelmed. If you are not a small child who is getting an kitty or an owl or a purse, you are getting some variation on this feather and fan pattern, because I can only cope with one official Christmas stitch. A friend of mine at work was decisively in favor of “fancy,” as opposed to a less frilly concoction, so here we go. Enjoy your hand towels.

Feather and fane

Feather and fan

Update: Oh, who knew? There’s a bitter controversy about the name of this stitch, which is from the Shetland Islands – is it feather and fan, or old shale? I’ll go with old shale, because I find the Orkney Island ladies intimidating.

Leave a comment, if you'd like to. Thanks!

